我們能夠為你提供什麼幫助?

一般

11月2日,紐約市將舉行一次地方公職包括市長、公眾利益倡導人、審計長、區長、市議會議員和地方檢察官的普選。 瞭解候選人。

瞭解候選人

初選是在普選之前舉行的選舉。在初選中,你們將決定哪位候選人將成為你們所屬黨派在普選中的提名人。你必須是某個黨派的成員才有權在初選中投票

瞭解有關選舉類型的更多資訊

普選是一場冠軍賽,來自不同黨派的候選人將在普選中競逐公職。初選的獲勝者會代表他們的黨派參加普選。普選有時還包括票決提案,在該提案中,選民們選擇是否通過新的法律或政策。

瞭解有關選舉類型的更多資訊

在任期結束之前,有民選官員離職,將舉行特別選舉。獲勝者將在該任期結束之前擔任該職務。

瞭解有關選舉類型的更多資訊

就在這裡!若要瞭解有關你選票上候選人的更多資訊,只需點擊上面的導航欄 “Meet the Candidates”(瞭解候選人)即可。你可以輸入你的地址,以找到哪些公職會出現在你的選票上,以及競選每個公職的候選人名單。此外,你還可以找到候選人提交的個人資料,包括視頻以及更多資訊。

瞭解候選人

可以,只要你做了投票登記,就可以投票! 這是一次對所有登記選民開放的普選。投票登記的截止日期為10月8日。

查閱網絡版《選民指南》

檢查你的黨派登記情況

排名選擇投票制

在地方政府公職的初選和特別選舉中,你可以按照優先順序給最多5 位候選人排名,而不再只是選擇一位候選人。

瞭解有關排名選擇投票制的更多資訊

你可以按照優先順序最多給5位候選人排名,而不再只是選擇一位候選人。如果一個候選人的首選投票超過50%,則該候選人贏得這次選舉。如果沒有候選人的首選投票超過50%,那麼計票將按輪次繼續。每輪結束時,得票數最少的候選人都會被淘汰。如果你的第一候選人被淘汰,你的選票將投給你選票上下一個排名最高的候選人。這個過程會一直持續到只剩下兩個候選人為止。此時,獲得多數票的候選人贏得選舉!

瞭解有關排名選擇投票制的更多資訊

可以!你仍然可以只投票給你的第一候選人。但是,給其他候選人排名不會影響你的第1排名。如果你的第1排名和唯一排名被淘汰,你的投票將不會對選舉結果造成任何影響。(你可能會聽到人們將這種選票稱為“失效的選票”)。

瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票

不是。你可以最多給5個候選人排名,但不是一定要給5個候選人排名。瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票。

不可以。如果你給最喜歡的候選人多次排名(例如,你的第 1 ,第 2 ,第 3 ,第 4 和第 5 排名),則只會計算你的第 1 排名。因此,給同一個候選人多個排名沒有任何好處。這對他們沒有任何幫助,而且剝奪了你在剩餘候選人中選出下一個候選人的機會(在這種情況下,你的選票同樣可以被稱為“失效的選票”)。

瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票

不可以。每個排名你都只能選擇一個候選人。如果你選擇了多個候選人作為你的第1排名,你的選票將無效。瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票。

若要給一個名字不在選票上的候選人投票,請在“非正式候選人”一行填寫該候選人的姓名,然後填滿一個橢圓,對你選中的非正式候選人排名。瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票。

不會。你的投票只會計算出現在你選票上最高的候選人的選票。如果你的第一候選人已被淘汰,則只會計算你投給第二候選人的選票。以此類推。瞭解排名選擇投票制如何計算票數。

如果你是親自投票,而且你給多個候選人相同的排名,投票機會通知你。如果你犯了錯誤,你可以要求投票工作人員提供一張新的選票。但是,如果你跳過排名,或者給同一候選人多個排名,投票機不會通知你,因為在這種情況下,你的第1排名選擇仍然有效。

瞭解如何填寫你的排名選擇選票

在將所有缺席者和軍人的選票清點核對(在選舉日之後,需要花費幾個星期的時間來完成)完之前,排名選擇投票制選舉的最終結果都不可能得知。

瞭解排名選擇投票制如何計算票數

在選舉日投票結束之後,紐約市選舉局會分享非正式的選舉結果。但是,這些結果沒有將缺席選票包括在內。在他們收到所有缺席選票之後,他們將完成選票計算,並發佈獲得認證的最終結果。你可以在紐約市選舉局網站中找到選舉結果。

訪問選舉局網站

郵寄選票

可以!如果你在申請或提交缺席選票後親自投票,你的缺席選票會自動失效。只會將你親自投票計入有效票數內。你可以提前投票或在選舉日投票。你可以提前投票,也可以在选举日投票。你不需要隨身攜帶你的選票。

瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊

可以!你可以將你填好的缺席選票投入紐約市的任何投票站。投票箱將放在前臺。此外,你還可以將你的選票投入任何選舉局辦公室的投票箱。如果你親自投放你的選票,你將不需要支付郵資。

瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊

可以!在你提交申請後,選舉局的選票追蹤器會讓你知道你選票的狀態。此外,它還會讓你知道,他們是否收到了你填好的選票,以及該選票是否有效。

追蹤你的選票

如果你的選票信封上存有可糾正的錯誤,例如,缺少簽名,或者簽名不正確,按照法律規定,選舉局需要通知你。 如果你的選票上存有可糾正的錯誤,他們將通過郵件、電子郵件和電話(如果可用)等方式,在發現錯誤後的1天內與你聯繫。然後,你將有最多7天的時間來糾正這個錯誤,並交回 簽名確認資料。 瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊。

瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊

這話聽起來很奇怪,但事實確實如此!你可以在你所在行政區的選舉局辦公室親自完成缺席投票。選舉局辦公室的開放時間為星期一到星期五的上午 9 點到下午 5 點,以及選舉日之前的週末。如果你在截止日期之前沒有通過線上或郵寄方式申請選票,這會是一個實用的選擇。在選舉日,選舉局辦公室在晚上 9 點之前都是開放的。

找到你當地的選舉局辦公室

可以!如果你患上了永久性疾病或永久性殘疾,而且無法前往你的投票站,你就可以加入選舉局的永久缺席選票名單。若要加入永久缺席選票名單,請勾選缺席選票申請上標有“永久性疾病或身體殘疾”的方框。在你有資格參與投票的每次選舉中,選舉局都會自動向你發送一份缺席選票申請。下載缺席選票申請表格

申請缺席選票 

選舉局在選舉日後最多7天內收到選票。但是,你的選票必須在11月2日前加蓋郵戳才有效。瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊。

瞭解有關郵寄投票的更多資訊

選舉日

在選舉日,你必須在指定的投票站投票。

找到你的投票站

你可以在10月23日–10月31日親自提前投票。提前投票日期和時間:
星期六 10月23日
星期日 10月24日
星期一 10月25日
星期二 10月26日
星期三 10月27日
星期四 10月28日
星期五 10月29日
星期六 10月30日
星期日 10月31日
找到你的投票站。

找到你的投票站

可以!你可以在 6 月 12 日 – 6 月 20 日親自提前投票。此外,你還可以申請缺席選票,以郵寄選票。

星期六 6 月 12 日

 上午8點 -下午5點 

星期日 6 月 13 日

上午8點 -下午5點

星期一 6 月 14 日

上午7點 -下午4點

星期二 6 月 15 日

上午10點 - 晚上8點

星期三 6 月 16 日

上午10點 - 晚上8點

星期四 6 月 17 日

上午10點 - 晚上8點

星期五 6 月 18 日

上午7點 -下午4點

星期六 6 月 19 日

上午8點 -下午5點

 星期日  6 月 20日

上午8點 -下午4點

瞭解更多的投票方式

可以!如果你在申請或提交缺席選票後親自投票,你的缺席選票會自動失效。只會將你親自投票計入有效票數內。你需要將你的缺席選票帶到你的投票站。

瞭解有關選舉日的更多資訊

可以!只要你是登記的選民,且在選舉日晚上 9 點之前就已經在排隊等候,你就有權投票。

瞭解有關選舉日的更多資訊

也許能,但如果我們要等幾個星期,也不要驚訝。選舉局在選舉日後的七天內,都可能會收到缺席選票,因此在收到所有選票之前,選舉局可能不會公佈選舉的結果。此外,市府公職的初選將使用排名選擇投票制。在排名選擇投票制選舉中,如果沒有候選人在第一輪投票中獲得多數票,投票可能需要進行幾輪。在這種情況下,選舉局在收到所有缺席選票之前,不會進行多輪計票。當然,花點時間確保每個人的聲音都能被聽到是值得的。

深入瞭解排名選擇投票制如何計算票數

投票登記

如果你符合下列條件,你將有資格做投票登記:

  • 美國公民
  • 30 天以上的紐約市居民
  • 至少 16 歲以上(你可以在 16 歲或 17 歲預先做投票登記,但必須達到 18 歲才有權投票)

瞭解有關投票登記的更多資訊

如果你擁有紐約州ID,你可以通過紐約交通管理局做線上投票登記。線上投票登記。

如果你沒有紐約州ID,你可以填寫一份選民登記表格,然後將表格郵寄給選舉局。此外,你還可以親自前往你所在行政區的選舉局辦公室做登記。

下載選民登記表格

如果你既沒有紐約州 ID,也沒有打印機,你可以通過 TurboVote填寫一份數字方式填寫一份表格,要求他們打印並將該表格郵寄給你,然後,你就可以在上面簽字,再將表格提交給選舉局。由於該平臺同樣適用於移動設備,因此,你甚至不需要一台電腦即可完成登記。

通過TurboVote 做投票登記

是!你可以在10月23日–10月31日親自提前投票。此外,你還可以申請一張缺席選票,並郵寄投票。提前投票日期和時間:
星期六 10月23日
星期日 10月24日
星期一 10月25日
星期二 10月26日
星期三 10月27日
星期四 10月28日
星期五 10月29日
星期六 10月30日
星期日 10月31日
瞭解更多投票方式

檢查你的登記狀態

是!如果你搬家了,你應該提交一份新的選民登記表格,通過選舉局更改你的地址。填寫你的舊地址,並完成標有“投票資訊已更改”的部分。如果想要成為某個黨派的成員,或者繼續保留現有黨派成員的身份,一定要在登記時選擇你所屬的黨派。 為了在11月2日的普選中投票,必須確保選舉局在10月13日之前收到你的地址更改資訊。瞭解有關投票登記的更多資訊。

瞭解有關投票登記的更多資訊

否。在你進行投票登記時,不必加入某個黨派。但是,只有黨派成員才有資格在初選中投票。因此,如果你想要在某個黨派的初選中投票,你應該在登記時加入該黨派。

瞭解有關初選的更多資訊

是! 若要更新你所屬的黨派,你必須提交一份新的選民登記表格。 在你的表格中,務必要選擇你想要加入的黨派。 瞭解有關投票登記的更多資訊。

瞭解有關投票登記的更多資訊

如果你現在處於緩刑期或假釋期,你將有權投票。

  • 但是,你可能需要提交一份新的選民登記表格,即使你曾登記過。投票登記。
  • 如果你曾登記過,你可以在這裏檢查你的選民登記狀態。

投票權

在你的投票站,你有權:

  • 要求投票站工作人員提供相應的幫助
  • 如果你需要語言幫助,向口譯工作者求助
  • 隨身攜帶任何投票材料
  • 即使投票機壞了,也可繼續投票
  • 如果你的名字不在投票站的選民名單上,則可以通過宣誓選票(affidavit ballot)投票
  • 如果你不是第一次投票,則不顯示 ID

瞭解更多你的投票權

有!如果投票站在你上班前下班後的開放時間少於 4 個小時,你有權在輪班開始或結束時,請兩個小時的帶薪假。也就是說,在選舉日,如果你被安排在上午 10 點前開始工作,下午 5 點後結束工作,你可以帶薪請假。但是,你必須在計劃投票前的至少兩天之前,通知你的雇主。

瞭解更多你的投票權

如果你的投票站出現了任何問題,你都可以打電話與紐約市選舉局聯繫。撥打電話:1-866-Vote-NYC (1-866-868-3692)。

TTY-212-487-5496

你可以撥打選舉保護熱線,與受過培訓的選舉保護志願者交談,並獲得免費的法律支持。撥打電話:866-OUR-VOTE (866-687-8683)。

如果你目前處於緩刑期或是假釋中,你有權投票。如果你以前登記過,你的選民記錄應該仍然有效。

檢查你的選民登記狀態

可以!如果你現在無家可歸,你仍然可以在紐約市登記和投票。但是,你必須提供一個郵寄地址,讓選舉局能夠通過你的登記表給你發送通知。

可及性

所有投票站都備有填票機(Ballot Marking Devices),以幫助選民們在提前投票和選舉日投票期間,填寫他們的選票。對於盲人,視力受損人士,或者身有殘疾或身患疾病而很難甚至無法用筆填寫選票的人士,這些填票機有著很大的幫助。但是,任何選民都可以申請使用填票機。

你可以使用填票機,通過顯示屏幕查看你的選票,通過耳機聆聽你的選擇,或者將你的選票翻譯為其他語言。如果你想要使用填票機,只需詢問投票站的工作人員就可以了!

填票機提供了下面四種方式來記錄你的選票:

  • 觸控式屏幕
  • 吹吸設備
  • 鍵盤 (Braille)
  • 搖杆扳鈕

從選舉局瞭解有關填票機的更多資訊

可以!只要他們不是你的雇主或工會代表,你就可以帶人來幫你投票。你還可以請求投票站工作人員提供幫助。

瞭解有關可及性的更多資訊

可以!如果你視力受損,或者患有殘疾,需要使用無障礙缺席選票(可以通過屏幕閱讀器閱讀,且可以進行數字化標記),你可以從紐約市選舉局申請一張無障礙缺席選票。申請一張無障礙缺席選票。

開放!紐約市選舉局保證,紐約市的每個投票站在提前投票和選舉日期間,會向所有選民開放。如果你的投票站出現了任何問題,你可以與選舉局聯繫,聯繫電話為 1-866-Vote-NYC (212-487-5496)。

可以,只要他們不是你的雇主或工會代表。某些投票站會提供西班牙語、中文、韓語和孟加拉語版本的材料。你的投票站提供的語言版本都是根據當地的人口普查資料決定的。

此外,某些投票站還會安排口譯工作者,為選民們提供上述語言和其他語言(例如,阿拉伯語、海地克裡奧爾語、俄語和意第緒語)方面的幫助。你可以訪問公民參與委員會的網站,瞭解哪些投票站提供每種語言的口譯工作者。

瞭解你作為選民的更多權利

這取決於你居住在哪裡。按照法律規定,紐約市的選票和其他投票材料都會根據當地的人口普查資料,被翻譯為孟加拉語、中文、韓語和西班牙語版本。

還有問題嗎?

通過社交媒體與我們聯繫!

通過郵件聯繫我們,或者給我們發送資訊。

Instagram

推特

臉書

電子郵件:nycvotes@nyccfb.info

重要日子

  • 選民登記的截止日期

    週五, 2021年 10 月 8 日
  • 申請缺席投票的截止日期

    週一, 2021年 10 月 18 日
  • 提前投票

    週六, 2021年 10 月 23 日 - 週日, 2021年 10 月 31 日
  • সিটি ব্যাপী সাধারণ নির্বাচন

    週二, 2021年 11 月 2 日

This site will be updated in 2022 for the June primary election.

How can we help you?

Jump to topic

General
Ranked Choice Voting
Vote by Mail
Early Voting
Election Day
Registering to Vote
Voting Rights
Accessibility

General

On November 2nd, NYC will hold a general election for local offices including Mayor, Public Advocate, Comptroller, Borough President, City Council, and District Attorney.

Meet the candidates

It’s the election before the election. In primary elections, you decide which candidate will be your party’s nominee for the general election. You must be a member of a political party to vote in a primary.

Learn more about types of elections

General elections are the championship match, where candidates from different parties compete to win elected office. Winners of primary elections represent their party in the general election. General elections sometimes include ballot proposals, where voters choose whether to adopt new laws or policies.

Learn more about types of elections

Special elections are held when an elected official leaves office before the end of their term. The winner serves in office until the end of that term.

Learn more about types of elections

Right here! To learn more about the candidates on your ballot, just click on “Meet the Candidates” in the navigation up top. You can enter in your address to find which offices will be on your ballot, and a list of candidates running for each office. You can also find profiles submitted by candidates, including videos and more.

Meet the candidates

Yes, as long as you are registered to vote! This is a general election that is open to all registered voters. The deadline to register is October 8.

Learn more about general elections

Register to vote

Ranked Choice Voting

In primary and special elections for local offices, you can rank up to 5 candidates in order of preference instead of choosing just one.

Learn more about Ranked Choice Voting

You can rank up to five candidates in order of preference, instead of choosing just one. If a candidate receives more than 50% of 1st-choice votes, they are the winner. If no candidate earns more than 50% of 1st-choice votes, then counting will continue in rounds. At the end of each round, the candidate with the fewest votes will be eliminated. If you ranked that candidate 1st, your vote will go to the next highest ranked candidate on your ballot. This process will continue until there are two candidates left. The candidate with the most votes wins.

Learn more about Ranked Choice Voting

Yes! You can still vote for just your 1st- choice candidate. However, ranking other candidates does not harm your 1st choice. If your 1st and only choice is eliminated, your vote will have no influence on the outcome of the election. (You may hear folks call this an “exhausted ballot.”)

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

No. You can rank up to five candidates, but you do not need to rank a total of 5.

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

No. If you rank your preferred candidate more than once (for example as your 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th choice), then only your first ranking will count. There is no strategic benefit to giving the same candidate multiple rankings. It doesn’t help them, and it takes away your chance to have a say about who you’d choose next out of the remaining candidates (This is another way your ballot can get “exhausted”).

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

No. You can only choose one candidate for each ranking. If you choose more than one candidate as your 1st choice, your ballot will not be valid.

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

To vote for a candidate whose name is not on the ballot, write their name on the “Write-in” line and fill in an oval to rank your write-in choice.

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

No. Your vote only counts for the highest active candidate on your ballot. Your vote will only count for your 2nd choice if your 1st choice is eliminated, and so on.

Learn how votes are counted with Ranked Choice Voting

If you vote in person, the voting machine will let you know if you give multiple candidates the same ranking. If you make a mistake, you can ask a poll worker for a new ballot. However, the voting machine will not let you know if you skip rankings or rank the same candidate multiple times, since your top-choice vote will still count in those cases.

Learn how to fill out your Ranked Choice ballot

Final results in Ranked Choice elections will not be known until all absentee and military ballots are counted, which could take several weeks after Election Day.

Learn how votes are counted with Ranked Choice Voting

The NYC Board of Elections will share unofficial election results after polls close on Election Day. However, these results will not include any absentee ballot votes. After they receive all absentee ballots, they will finish counting and release certified final results. You can find election results at the NYC Board of Elections website.

Visit the Board of Elections website

Vote by Mail

Yes! If you vote in person after requesting or submitting an absentee ballot, your absentee ballot is automatically disqualified. Only your in person vote will count. You can either vote early or on Election Day. You do not need to bring your ballot with you.

Learn more about voting by mail

Yes! You can drop off your completed absentee ballot at any NYC poll site. Ballot boxes will be available at the front desk. You can also drop off your ballot at any Board of Elections office. You do not need postage if you are dropping off your ballot.

Learn more about voting by mail

Yes! The Board of Elections’ ballot tracker will let you know the status of your ballot after you submit a request. It will also let you know if they have received your completed ballot and whether it’s valid.

Track your ballot

The Board of Elections is required by law to notify you if there is a curable error on your ballot envelope, such as a missing or incorrect signature. If there is a fixable error on your ballot, they will contact you by mail, email, and phone (if available) within 1 day of discovering the error. You will then have up to 7 days to correct the error by returning a signed affirmation.

Learn more about voting by mail

Sounds strange, but it’s true! You can vote absentee in person at your borough’s Board of Elections office. Offices are open 9am-5pm Monday through Friday, and on the weekend prior to Election Day. This can be a helpful option if you miss the deadline to request a ballot online or by mail. On Election Day offices are open until 9pm.

Find your local Board of Elections office

Yes! If you are permanently ill or disabled and cannot get to your poll site, you can join the Board of Elections permanent absentee ballot list. To join, check the box marked “permanent illness or physical disability” on the absentee ballot application. The Board of Elections will automatically send you an absentee ballot application for every election you are qualified to vote in. 

Request absentee ballotDownload absentee ballot request form

The Board of Elections can receive ballots up to seven days after Election Day. However, you must postmark by November 2nd for your ballot to be valid.

Learn more about voting by mail

Early Voting

You must vote at your assigned early voting site. Your early voting site may be different from your Election Day poll site, so make sure to check before you go!

Find your poll site

You can vote early in person from October 23 - October 31. Early voting dates & hours:

Saturday, October 23

8AM – 5PM

Sunday, October 24

8AM – 5PM

Monday, October 25

7AM – 4PM

Tuesday, October 26

10AM – 8PM

Wednesday, October 27

10AM – 8PM

Thursday, October 28

10AM – 8PM

Friday, October 29

7AM – 4PM

Saturday, October 30

8AM – 5PM

Sunday, October 31

8AM – 4PM

Find your poll site

Yes! If you vote in person after requesting or submitting an absentee ballot, your absentee ballot is automatically disqualified. Only your in person vote will count. You do not need to bring your absentee ballot to your poll site.

Yes! You have the right to vote as long as you are a registered voter in line by the time polls close.

Early voting gives voters more flexibility, reduces wait times on Election Day, and eases the burden on poll workers, creating a more pleasant voting experience for everyone!

Early voting was signed into law by the Governor in 2019. It had bipartisan support in the State Senate and Assembly.

Election Day

You must vote at your assigned poll site on Election Day.

Find your poll site

Polls are open from 6am-9pm on Election Day.

Find your poll site

Yes! You can vote early in person from October 23 - October 31. You can also vote by mail by requesting an absentee ballot.

Saturday, October 23

8AM – 5PM

Sunday, October 24

8AM – 5PM

Monday, October 25

7AM – 4PM

Tuesday, October 26

10AM – 8PM

Wednesday, October 27

10AM – 8PM

Thursday, October 28

10AM – 8PM

Friday, October 29

7AM – 4PM

Saturday, October 30

8AM – 5PM

Sunday, October 31

8AM – 4PM

Learn about more ways to vote

Yes! If you vote in person after requesting or submitting an absentee ballot, your absentee ballot is automatically disqualified. Only your in person vote will count. You do not need to bring your absentee ballot to your poll site.

Learn more about Election Day

Yes! You have the right to vote as long as you are a registered voter in line by 9pm on Election Day.

Learn more about Election Day

Maybe, but don’t be surprised if we have to wait a few weeks. The Board of Elections can receive absentee ballots until seven days after Election Day, so the results of some races may not be known until all ballots have been received.

Registering to Vote

You are eligible to register to vote if you are:

  • a U.S. citizen
  • a New York City resident for at least 30 days
  • at least 16 years old (you can pre-register to vote at 16 or 17, but you must be 18 to vote)

Learn more about registering to vote

If you have a New York State ID, you can register online with the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Register to vote online

If you do not have a New York State ID, you can complete a voter registration form and mail it to the Board of Elections. You can also visit your Borough Board of Elections office to register in person.

Download a voter registration form

If you don’t have a New York State ID or a printer, you can digitally fill out a form with TurboVote and have them print and mail it to you, so you can sign and return to the Board of Elections. The platform also works on mobile, so you don’t even need a computer.

Register to vote with TurboVote

You can check your voter registration status, which political party you are enrolled in, and your political district information by using the NYS Voter Lookup tool.

Check your registration

Yes! When you move, you should change your address with the Board of Elections by submitting a new voter registration form. Complete the section labeled “Voting information that has changed” by entering your old address. If you would like to become a member of a political party, or remain a member of your current political party, make sure to select your political party on your registration. In order to vote in the November 2 election, your change of address must be received by the Board of Elections by October 13.

Learn more about registering to vote

No. You do not have to join a political party when you register to vote. However, only members of political parties are eligible to vote in primary elections. So if you’d like to vote in primary elections for a particular party, you should join that party when you register.

Learn more about primary elections

Yes! To update your party affiliation, you must submit a new voter registration form. On your form, make sure to select the political party that you would like to join.

Learn more about registering to vote

If you are currently on probation or parole, you have the right to vote.

Voting Rights

At your poll site you have the right to:

  • Ask a poll worker for help
  • Use an interpreter if you need language assistance
  • Bring any voting materials with you 
  • Vote even if the voting machine is broken
  • Vote by affidavit ballot if your name is missing from the list of voters at your polling site
  • Not show an ID if you are not a first time voter

Learn more about your voting rights

Yes! You have the right to take two paid hours off from work at the beginning or end of your shift if polls are open for less than 4 hours before your shift starts and after it ends. That means on Election Day, you can take paid time off if you are scheduled to start work before 10am and end work after 5pm. You must notify your employer at least two days before you plan to vote.

Learn more about your voting rights

You can call the NYC Board of Elections about any issues at your poll site. Call 1-866-Vote-NYC (1-866-868-3692).

TTY-212-487-5496

You can contact the Election Protection hotline to speak with a trained Election Protection volunteer and get free legal support. Call 866-OUR-VOTE (866-687-8683).

If you are currently on probation or parole, you have the right to vote.

Yes! If you are experiencing homelessness, you can register and vote in New York City. You must include a mailing address where the BOE can send you notices on your registration form.

Accessibility

Ballot Marking Devices are available at all poll sites to help voters fill out their ballots during early voting and on Election Day. These devices can be helpful to voters who are blind, visually impaired, or have a disability or condition that make it difficult or impossible to mark a ballot with a pen. However, any voter can request to use a Ballot Marking Device.

You can use a Ballot Marking Device to see your ballot on a display screen, listen to your choices through headphones, or translate your ballot into additional languages. If you’d like to use a Ballot Marking Device, just ask a poll worker! 

The device provides four ways to mark your ballot:

  • Touch screen
  • Sip & puff device
  • Keypad (Braille)
  • Rocker paddle

Learn more about Ballot Marking Devices from the Board of Elections

Yes! As long as they are not your employer or union representative, you can bring someone to help you vote. You can also always ask a poll worker for help.

Learn more about accessibility

Yes! If you are visually impaired or have a disability that requires you to use an accessible version of the absentee ballot that can be read by a screen reader and marked digitally, you may request an accessible ballot from the NYC Board of Elections.

Request an accessible absentee ballot

Yes! The NYC Board of Elections ensures that every poll site in the city is accessible to all voters during early voting and Election Day. If there are any issues with your poll site, you can contact the Board of Elections at 1-866-Vote-NYC (212-487-5496).

Yes, as long as they are not also your employer or union representative. Some poll sites have materials in Spanish, Chinese, Korean, and Bengali. The languages available at your poll site are based on local Census data.

 

In addition, interpreters are available at some poll sites to provide assistance in these languages and others, such as Arabic, Haitian Creole, Russian, and Yiddish. You can learn which poll sites offer translators in each language at the Civic Engagement Commission’s website.

Learn more about your rights as a voter

It depends on where you live. By law, New York City ballots and other voting materials are translated into Bengali, Chinese, Korean, and Spanish at certain poll sites based on local Census data.

Still have questions?

Contact us on social media!

Tag us in a post or send us a message.

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

Key Dates

  • Deadline to Change Party Affiliation

    Mon, February 14, 2022
  • Voter Registration Deadline

    Fri, June 3, 2022
  • Early Voting

    Sat, June 18, 2022 - Sun, June 26, 2022
  • Primary Election Day

    Tue, June 28, 2022